20+ anticipated releases for the rest of 2021 (September – December)

Once again, it’s been a while! I haven’t written a blog post in a hot minute, but anticipated releases posts have always been some of my favorites and I have a lot that I’m excited about this fall. Debut authors, retellings, sequels, and plenty more! Shall we just get into them?

divider

The All-Consuming World by Cassandra Khaw

54864319. sy475

Sept. 7

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

adult sci-fi

๐Ÿ–ค 1๏ธโƒฃ ๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ

Well, this book’s release date got pushed back so this is the second anticipated releases post it’s appearing on. I’ll just repeat what I said last time: Sci-fi heist! A band of criminal cyborg women! Evil AI! I am in.

divider2

A Touch of Ruckus by Ash Van Otterloo

53322566. sy475

Sept. 7

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

middle grade fantasy

๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ

A ghostly middle grade mystery set in the South featuring a major nonbinary character! I’m also getting major X-Files energy from the cover and synopsis (one of the main characters is named Fox, people).

divider2

So Many Beginnings: A Little Women Remix by Bethany C. Morrow

55780561

Sept. 7

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

YA historical fiction

๐Ÿ–ค

I mean, a Little Women retelling featuring a Black family in 1860s North Carolina? I cannot wait to see what Bethany C. Morrow does with this story.

divider2

Among Thieves by M.J. Kuhn

50214609. sy475

Sept. 7

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

adult fantasy

1๏ธโƒฃ ๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ

A dark fantasy heist novel featuring a morally grey thief and a band of self-interested outlaws! This sounds like the perfect thing to scratch the Six of Crows itch in my life.

divider2

Under the Whispering Door by TJ Klune

53205888

Sept. 21

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

adult fantasy

๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ

I’ve already read this one, and I highly recommend it! This follows a truly unpleasant man after his death, when a reaper takes him to a tea shop and he refuses to move on. A sweet mix ofย The Good Placeย andย Pushing Daisies, this book is just a delight.

divider2

Iron Widow by Xiran Jay Zhao

52459864

Sept. 21

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

YA sci-fi

๐Ÿ–ค 1๏ธโƒฃ ๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ

Giant mecha! Smashing the patriarchy! Psychic bonds! REVENGE! This book sounds like it’ll be a truly wild ride and I cannot wait.

divider2

Some Faraway Place by Lauren Shippen

56179358

Sept. 28

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

YA sci-fi

๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ

The third Bright Sessions novel (based on a truly fantastic sci-fi podcast) follows Rose, who can travel into people’s dreams. I have high expectations for this book, which I have no doubt that Lauren Shippen will fulfill.

divider2

Summer Sons by Lee Mandelo

53290204

Sept. 28

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

adult horror

1๏ธโƒฃ ๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ

If I’m honest, I have almost no idea what this book is about, but the ~vibe~ that the cover gives off, and Alix Harrow’s blurb calling it “hot and hungry and haunting,” has me very intrigued.

divider2

Light From Uncommon Stars by Ryka Aoki

56179360

Sept. 28

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

adult sci-fi

๐Ÿ–ค ๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ

This is another one that I just read recently! A music-filled sci-fi featuring a trans girl who runs away from home and ends up involved with a famous violin teacher, a Faustian bargain, and donut-making aliens. As you do.

divider2

A Spindle Splintered by Alix E. Harrow

49187294. sy475

Oct. 5

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

adult fantasy

๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ

I HAVE READ THIS ONE ALREADY AND TO ABSOLUTELY NOBODY’S SURPRISE RATED IT 5 STARS. Alix E. Harrow can truly do no wrong. This multiverse reimagining of Sleeping Beauty is so stunning that I will probably end up rereading it over and over.

divider2

Daughter of the Deep by Rick Riordan

57094644

Oct. 5

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

YA fantasy

What’s that, you say? A non-Percy Jackson related Rick Riordan book? A reimagining of 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea?? I am so in. And guess what else?? YOUR GIRL HAS AN ARC.

divider2

The Last Cuentista by Donna Barba Higuera

53845285. sy475

Oct. 12

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

middle grade sci-fi

๐Ÿ–ค

I have read this one already and loved it! This upper middle grade/lower YA sci-fi follows Petra, who escapes Earth with her family just before it’s destroyed by a comet. On their journey to a new planet, though, things (unsurprisingly) go very wrong.

divider2

This Is Our Rainbow: 16 Stories of Her, Him, Them, and Us, edited by Katherine Locke and Nicole Melleby

50713820

Oct. 19

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

middle grade anthology

๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ

This is the first ever middle grade LGBTQ+ anthology, y’all! Nicole Melleby is already a favorite author of mine, and we’ve also got contributions from Ashley Herring Blake, Justina Ireland, Molly Ostertag, and more. I am EXCITED!

divider2

The Death of Jane Lawrence by Caitlin Starling

48915818

Oct. 19

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

adult horror

A historical Gothic horror about, what else? A woman marrying a mysterious man and discovering that things at his spooky mansion are not all as they seem. This sounds like Angela Carter plus Rebecca, and I’m here for it.

divider2

Little Thieves by Margaret Owen

54017820

Oct. 19

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

YA fantasy

If you’ve spent any time at all on this blog, you might know that The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale is one of my favorite books of all time. So this retelling of the same fairy tale but from the villainous maid’s perspective? Color me intrigued.

(Sidenote but every time I see this title I hear it in Gollum’s voice when he calls the hobbits “filthy little thieves.” Why is my brain like this.)

divider2

The Color of Dragons by R.A. Salvatore and Erika Lewis

56755478

Oct. 19

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

YA fantasy

Literally all you needed to tell me was “dragons” and “Arthuriana,” and I’m there. The synopsis sounds pretty typical YA fantasy, but hey, I’m gonna give it a try and hope I’m blown away.

divider2

A Certain Appeal by Vanessa King

57345684

Nov. 2

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

adult historical romance

1๏ธโƒฃ

Yes, that’s rightโ€”this is aย Pride and Prejudice retelling set in burlesque New York. I don’t even care how many times this story has been told, I will read itย every time.

divider2

A Marvellous Light by Freya Marske

53217284. sy475

Nov. 2

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

adult historical fantasy

1๏ธโƒฃ ๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ

A magical Edwardian England about two disgruntled bureaucrats who have to solve a mystery together! I’ve seen reviews of this that say it reads like really good fanfiction, which you know I love.

divider2

The Nobleman’s Guide to Scandal and Shipwrecks by Mackenzi Lee

52934919. sx318 sy475

Nov. 16

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

YA historical fiction

๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ

This has got to be the third? fourth? anticipated releases list that this book has appeared on, because the release date KEEPS GETTING PUSHED BACK. Fingers crossed this is the last time. I just want to read about my boy Adrian Montague!!

divider2

Here’s to Us by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera

55424906. sy475

Dec. 28

goodreadsย |ย storygraph

YA contemporary

๐Ÿ–ค ๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€๐ŸŒˆ

The long-awaited sequel to one of my favorite YA contemporary romances,ย What If It’s Us! Both Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera write such delightful stories and characters, so whatever is in this book, I’m sure to love.

divider

What new releases are you looking forward to this fall? Are there any debut authors you have your eye on?

x Margaret

goodreads | twitter | instagram | bookshop

Pin this!

anticipated pin

12 thoughts on “20+ anticipated releases for the rest of 2021 (September – December)

  1. I’ve not read What If It’s Us yet, but this seems like a good time to start! I think I’ll pick it up around December, just before the sequel is released.

    Like

  2. So many good books coming out towards the end of the year!! ๐Ÿ’• I’m also highly anticipating Under the Whispering Door, A Marvellous Light, and of course Daughter of the Deep (SO excited to hear that you got an Arc!! I hope you like it! ๐Ÿฅฐ)! I hadn’t heard of A Touch of Ruckus before, but it sure sounds intriguing ๐Ÿ‘€

    Like

  3. I hope The Noblemanโ€™s Guide to Scandal and Shipwrecks comes out already! I am looking forward to this one seems like since forever!
    Daughter of the Deep coming out on my birthday seems like a sign. I love Rick Riordan so much and as much as I’ll miss him writing in the Percy Jackson/Magnus Chase universe, it will definitely be exciting following his new endeavour.

    Like

  4. i am DYING to read A Marvellous Light. it sounds like such a perfect book for me !!! still waiting on tor to respond to my netgalley request ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ

    Like

  5. A Spindle Splintered is really hard to say but it sounds so good! (Yes this list is from a year ago but I’m late to the book party after my two year hiatus.) I’m always a sucker for a good retelling. Thanks for putting this list together!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.