closing the book properly

Oh, hi.

So it’s been a while. In case you’ve completely forgotten who I am (which is fair): I’m Margaret, and from 2018 to 2021, I was a book blogger right here at Weird Zeal.

As you may have been able to gather based on the fact that my last post is over two years old (and references now-iconic (at least to me) books like Iron Widow, Little Thieves, and Summer Sons as anticipated releases?? Different times…), Weird Zeal has basically been retired. And I’m sorry to say, that isn’t going to change. But it didn’t feel right to leave forever without saying a proper goodbye.

So here we are at last. Closing the book one final time.

There wasn’t one single reason that I left book blogging; it was simply a combination of losing steam, blogging work becoming too similar to what I was doing for my day job, and general burnout. I don’t even remember making a conscious decision to leave. I just took a step back and figured I’d return if/when I felt motivated again, but sadly that day never came.

All that to say, I couldn’t be more grateful for the approximately three and a half years I spent gushing about books, making friends, and generally being a huge nerd here with you all. I wrote a total of 327 posts—including 208 book reviews—got over 187k blog views, and received over 5.4k comments. Even now, years later, I have trouble wrapping my mind around everything that this community meant to me while I was in it.

So thank you to everyone who made me feel welcome, who shouted about books we loved (or hated) with me, who recommended books that ended up changing my life. There are quite frankly too many of you to name, and I don’t know who’s still around anymore…but if you think I might be talking about you, I’m definitely talking about you. Thank you. ❤️

I’m not terribly active on the bookish internet anymore (my Bookstagram experiment lasted about six months, if we’re being generous, and I’ve abandoned Twitter for obvious reasons), but if you don’t already follow me on Goodreads, that’s a good place to keep up with what I’m reading. You’re also welcome to follow my personal Instagram, where I don’t post a lot but spend plenty of time lurking.

And while I’m (briefly) here, I want to know how you all have been! What have you been up to? Read any amazing books recently? What shows/movies/music have you been obsessed with lately? (I’m personally still recovering from the quadruple punch of Good Omens-Heartstopper-Red, White & Royal Blue-Hozier album of July/August. If you know, you know.) What’s the latest book blogging gossip??

And now…I don’t really know what else there is to say except for thank you again for three and a half wonderful years of blogging, I wish you all well, and I’ll see you around.

(Now let’s see if I can remember how to post this…)

18 thoughts on “closing the book properly

  1. I was actually thinking about you the other day. I’d just finished Graceling by Kristin Cashore. And I wanted to let you know that I.Loved. It. Po is an awesome love interest. And the lead villain was wonderfully creepy. I wound up recommending the book to one of my friends on Discord, because the villain in her story has similar mind manipulation magic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I absolutely LOVE hearing this, and I’m delighted that you enjoyed Graceling!!! I truly cannot count how many times I’ve read that book; it is an all-time favorite. And yes, Radio Silence!! That’s one that I wouldn’t have read if it weren’t for other bloggers recommending it, and seeing as it completely changed me as a person, that’s just one more reason to be grateful for the blogging community 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 🥰🥰🥰 I loved so many things about Graceling. Like, I could go into a whole spoiler-filled dissertation about all of the things I loved about it. 😄

        As for Radio Silence, I just really enjoyed it. I found out about that book through book reviewers on YouTube talking about how that book hit them hard. I didn’t know too many spoilers about it, though. So, I went into it without any idea about how it was going to turn out. The scene where Aled’s mom cuts his hair gave me absolute chills. And I really liked that it didn’t turn into a romance. There was that sliver of possibility, but it didn’t go there and I appreciated that.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Margaret,

    This is sad news. I enjoyed your book blog a lot. And, truthfully, you had completely fallen off my radar until the other day, when I was looking through some old emails, and came across some of yours, and I wondered, what ever happened to her? So thank you for getting in touch once more and closing the book.

    I wish you good luck in whatever your future holds. And I hope someday to find a book blogger who, like you, has similar tastes to mine, and who, like you, is interesting and fun to read.

    Best,

    Mary Holm

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Margaret! I loved your blog and thank you so much for all your content & kindness 🥰 It was lovely getting to know you and admiring your book review titles!

    I totally understand your reasons for leaving and wish you all the best for your next steps! ❤️ It was lovely to see a final post from you, especially with appreciation of the latest Hozier album 😁 have you got any stand-out songs from it??

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Sophie, that really means so much! ❤️ All the best to you as well!

      I truly am obsessed with the new Hozier album, and I feel like I have a new favorite song every time I listen. Some of my consistent favorites though are Eat Your Young, Francesca, and First Light 😍 How about you??

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you 🥰❤️
        Hozier has a gift 😍 haha I get that feeling, it is hard to choice and changes every time you listen to them. Eat Your Young and Francesca are incredible singles, they stand out to me too. I am enjoying Who We Are and Damage Gets Done at the minute as well!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Aw Margaret! It’s been a while indeed, and it’s been a journey! I always love your posts and your blogging voice, it’s really fun and I truly going to miss it ❤ Thank you for all the things and opinions and post you've shared with us, I hope you will continue to find joy with reading and connecting with other readers, and good luck! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Margaret❤️ I feel so, so grateful that our paths have crossed on here and I wish you all the very best for what’s coming, next. I’ll miss you tons. Sending you so much love !! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.